National Awards

Award presentation

AESA bestows four national awards to outstanding candidates for their contributions to ESAs at the regional, state, and/or national level. The AESA executive council makes the award selections each year from the outstanding nominations. Nomination period now closed for 2016-2017.

  • The Justus A. Prentice Award acknowledges contributions through executive leadership in the advancement of regional educational service agency programs at the regional, state, and national levels.
  • The Walter G. Turner Award recognizes contributions in the advancement of regional educational programs at the regional, state, and/or national levels.
  • The E. Robert Stephens Award acknowledges contributions that advance understanding of regional educational agencies through research, writing, and/or publications at the regional, state and national levels.
  • The Brian L. Talbott Award acknowledges an individual or agency for contribution in the area of technological innovation and support to local districts and educational service agencies.

National Award Winners


Congressional Awards

AESA bestows Congressional Service Awards to recognize members of Congress for meritorious support of federal education legislation and Educational Service Agencies.

Nominations for the 2016 Congressional Service Award are now closed.

AESA annually honors one or more Members of the United States Congress who have provided:

  • strong support for furthering the federal role and funding of ESAs
  • advocated for positions on federal legislation supported by AESA
  • served in a leadership role or on a congressional committee sponsoring legislation supporting ESA legislation

Congressional Service Award Winners

It is important that we recognize our elected officials for supporting our issues.  You are invited to nominate a member of congress for this honor. The nomination period is now closed.


Meritorious Awards

The AESA Council periodically recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to educational service agencies with the Meritorious Award.

Meritorious Award Winners